top of page


Public·72 members


Click Here >>>

The Beatles: All These Years - Extended Special Edition Volume One: Tune In

The Beatles: All These Years - Extended Special Edition Volume One: Tune In is a book by Mark Lewisohn, the acclaimed biographer of the Fab Four. It is the first installment of a planned three-volume series that covers the entire history of the Beatles, from their origins in Liverpool to their break-up in 1970.

The book is based on extensive research and interviews with hundreds of people who knew or worked with the Beatles, as well as access to rare documents and recordings. It provides a detailed and comprehensive account of the early years of the band, from their childhoods and musical influences to their first recordings and tours. It also explores the social and cultural context of the 1950s and 1960s, and how it shaped the Beatles' music and image.

The Extended Special Edition of the book is a limited edition that contains more than 200 extra pages of material that was cut from the original edition for space reasons. It also includes a slipcase, a ribbon marker, and a specially designed bookmark. The book is a must-have for any Beatles fan or music lover who wants to learn more about the most influential and popular band of all time.

The book has received critical acclaim from reviewers and Beatles fans alike, who praised Lewisohn's meticulous research, engaging writing style, and fresh insights into the band's history. The Guardian called it "a triumph. Not only an enthralling account of the Beatles' origins, far superior to anything that has gone before, but also an essential piece of social history". [7] The New York Times described it as "a giant banquet of a book" and "a major event in music publishing". [8] The Independent hailed it as "the definitive account of the Beatles" and "a radical event and a joy to read". [9]

Lewisohn is currently working on the second volume of the series, which will cover the years 1963 to 1966, when the Beatles achieved worldwide fame and artistic maturity. He expects to finish it by 2023. [10] The third and final volume will cover the years 1967 to 1970, when the Beatles experimented with new musical styles and eventually disbanded. Lewisohn has not given a tentative date for its completion. He has said that he hopes his books will be "the standard work" on the Beatles for generations to come. [2]

The book also contains many rare and unseen photographs of the Beatles and their associates, as well as reproductions of documents, letters, contracts, and memorabilia. Some of these items are exclusive to the Extended Special Edition, which also features a comprehensive index and bibliography. The book is divided into three parts: The Prologue, which covers the family histories of John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr; The Players, which introduces the key figures in the Beatles' story, such as Brian Epstein, George Martin, Stuart Sutcliffe, Pete Best, and others; and The Beatles 1957â1962, which chronicles the formation and development of the band, from their first meeting at Woolton Fete to their audition at Decca Records and their signing with EMI. [11]

The book reveals many new facts and stories about the Beatles' early years, such as the true origin of Lennon's middle name Winston; [12] the identity of the man who taught McCartney to play guitar; [13] the reason why Harrison was deported from Germany in 1960; [14] the role of Epstein's assistant Alistair Taylor in securing the Beatles' contract with EMI; [15] and the influence of American disc jockey Carroll James on the Beatles' US breakthrough. [16] The book also corrects many myths and misconceptions about the band, such as the claim that Lennon was a working-class hero; [17] the allegation that McCartney's father disapproved of his son's musical ambitions; [18] the suggestion that Harrison was a reluctant Beatle; [19] and the notion that Starr was a lucky replacement for Best. [20] ec8f644aee


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...
Group Page: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page